(815) 895-5215
Spiritual Formation Academic Excellence Service to Others
Phone: (815) 895-5215 | Fax: (815) 895-5295
222 Waterman Street · Sycamore, IL 60178

Calendar

The St. Mary’s Catholic School – Sycamore 2017-2018 Academic Calendar

2017-2018 School Year Spirit Wear & Dress Down Days

June 2017>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
<July 2017>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
<August 2017>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
19
20
21
23
26
27
28
29
30
31
<September 2017>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
2
3
5
6
7
9
10
12
14
16
17
18
19
20
23
24
26
27
30
<October 2017>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
<November 2017>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
12
14
15
19
25
26
28
29
<December 2017>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
2
3
5
6
9
10
12
13
14
17
18
20
23
24
<January 2018>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
6
7
9
10
11
13
14
16
20
21
23
24
27
<February 2018>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
3
4
6
8
10
11
12
13
17
18
20
21
24
25
27
28
<March 2018>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
3
4
6
8
10
11
12
13
14
17
18
20
21
24
25
<April 2018>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
3
4
5
7
8
11
15
16
21
22
28
29
<May 2018>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
2
5
6
7
8
9
13
14
15
19
20
22
23
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
<June 2018>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
<July 2018>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
26
27
28
29
30
31
<August 2018>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
2
3
4
5
6
7
9
10
11
12
13
14
18
19
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
<September 2018>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
<October 2018>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
6
7
8
9
10
11
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
27
28
30
31
<November 2018>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
<December 2018>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
<January 2019>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
22
23
24
25
<February 2019>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
16
17
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
<March 2019>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
16
17
18
19
20
21
23
24
30
31
<April 2019>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
<May 2019>
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
18
19
20
21
22
25
26
27
31
<June 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

No events found

School Office Closed

Monday, July 3, 2017 - Friday, July 14, 2017
8:30 am - 1:30 pm

Back to School Dinner @ PAC

Monday, July 31, 2017
4:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Join in the fun and get ready for the 2017-2018 school year at this year's Back To School Night & Uniform Exchange! Dinner will be served starting at 5:00pm, with the uniform exchange taking place … read more

First Day of School K-8

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Preschool 3 Meet & Greet

Thursday, August 17, 2017
9:00 am

Preschool 4 (PM group) Meet & Greet

Thursday, August 17, 2017
12:00 pm

Preschool 4 (AM group) Meet & Greet

Friday, August 18, 2017
9:00 am

First day of Preschool 3

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Curriculum Night K-3rd Grade

Tuesday, August 22, 2017
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Curriculum Night 4th-6th Grade

Tuesday, August 22, 2017
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Curriculum Night 7th & 8th Grade

Thursday, August 24, 2017
6:30 pm - 7:30 pm

School Mass – 6th Grade

Friday, August 25, 2017
9:00 am - 10:00 am

School Mass – 8th Grade

Friday, September 1, 2017
9:00 am - 10:00 am

Labor Day

Monday, September 4, 2017

School Mass – 5th Grade

Friday, September 8, 2017
9:00 am - 10:00 am

PTO Meeting

Monday, September 11, 2017
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Get involved with the St. Mary's PTO! Our September meeting will take place in the PAC (Parish Activity Center) at 7pm on Monday, September 11, 2017 read more

Student Council Elections

Wednesday, September 13, 2017
Speeches to teachers by Monday, Sept. 11 read more

School Mass – 7th Grade

Friday, September 15, 2017
9:00 am - 10:00 am

Preschool Dads & Donuts

Thursday, September 21, 2017 - Friday, September 22, 2017

Little Art Club Gr. 2-3

Thursday, September 21, 2017
3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

School Mass – 4th Grade

Friday, September 22, 2017
9:00 am - 10:00 am

6th Grade Fermilab Trip

Monday, September 25, 2017
Prairie & Forest Study read more

Preschool 3 at Apple Orchard

Thursday, September 28, 2017

School Mass- 3rd Grade

Friday, September 29, 2017
9:00 am - 10:00 am

Tickets On Sale! St. Mary’s Casino Night & Auction

Sunday, October 1, 2017 - Saturday, November 11, 2017
**Tickets available October 1, 2017** For tickets, please call 815-895-3275 Saturday, November 11, 2017 6:00 – 11:00 PM St. Mary’s Parish Activity Center $50 VIP package (event ticket and … read more

Cross-Country Photos at Sycamore Park

Tuesday, October 3, 2017
3:15 pm

Kindergarten Fire Station Field Trip

Wednesday, October 4, 2017
8:30 am - 9:30 am

Picture Day

Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Preschool 4 at Pumpkin Farm

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Volleyball Pictures at PAC

Wednesday, October 11, 2017
3:00 pm

Volley Ball Pictures At PAC

Wednesday, October 11, 2017
3:00 pm

Quarterly Dress Down Day

Thursday, October 12, 2017

End of First Quarter

Friday, October 13, 2017

School Mass- 8th Grade

Friday, October 13, 2017
9:00 am - 10:00 am

Battle of Books Competition at Sycamore Library

Monday, October 16, 2017
6:00 pm - 6:45 pm

4th Grade Field Trip to Renwich Marsh

Wednesday, October 18, 2017
8:30 am - 12:00 pm

Little Art Club Gr. 2-3

Thursday, October 19, 2017
3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

School Mass – 6th Grade

Friday, October 20, 2017
9:00 am - 10:00 am

School Dance for 6th-8th Grade

Friday, October 20, 2017
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Spirit Wear Day

Thursday, October 26, 2017

1pm Dismissal – Teacher Inservice

Thursday, October 26, 2017
1:00 pm

Trunk or Treat – Preschool & Kindergarten

Thursday, October 26, 2017
5:30 pm - 7:00 pm

School Mass – 5th Grade

Friday, October 27, 2017
9:00 am - 10:00 am

School Mass – 7th Grade

Wednesday, November 1, 2017
9:00 am - 10:00 am

Veteran’s Day Mass & Celebration – 4th Grade

Friday, November 10, 2017
9:00 am - 10:00 am

St. Mary’s Casino Night & Auction

Saturday, November 11, 2017
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday, November 11, 2017 6:00 – 11:00 PM St. Mary’s PAC Tickets available October 1 $50 VIP package (event ticket and $50,000 in gaming chips) $25 event ticket only Professional Gaming … read more

Battle of the Books at Sycamore Library

Monday, November 13, 2017
4:30 pm - 5:30 pm

Little Art Club Gr. 2-3

Thursday, November 16, 2017
3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

School Mass – 3rd Grade

Friday, November 17, 2017
9:00 am - 10:00 am

4th Annual St. Mary’s Holiday Shopping Event

Saturday, November 18, 2017
2:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Support local businesses (who support St. Mary's!) and start your holiday shopping at the 4th Annual St. Mary's Holiday Shopping Event! This is yearly vendor and crafter event to support the St. … read more

Thanksgiving Break

Monday, November 20, 2017 - Friday, November 24, 2017

4th Grade Field Trip to Russell Woods

Monday, November 27, 2017
8:30 am - 3:00 pm

Spirit Wear Day

Thursday, November 30, 2017

School Mass – 2nd Grade

Friday, December 1, 2017
9:00 am - 10:00 am

PTO Meeting

Monday, December 4, 2017
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Join us for the St. Mary's Monthly PTO meeting! Held the first Monday of each month (unless otherwise specified), the PTO helps generate fundraising opportunities and support for our teachers, … read more

Quarterly Dress Down Day

Thursday, December 7, 2017

School Mass – 8th Grade

Friday, December 8, 2017
9:00 am - 10:00 am

Battle of the Books at Sycamore Library

Monday, December 11, 2017
5:15 pm - 6:15 pm

School Mass – 6th Grade

Friday, December 15, 2017
9:00 am - 10:00 am

Spirit Wear Day

Thursday, December 21, 2017

Little Art Club Gr. 2-3

Thursday, December 21, 2017
3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Boys Basketball at Home vs. St. Patrick’s

Thursday, December 21, 2017
6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
5th Grade at 6:30pm 7th Grade at 7:30pm 8th Grade at 8:30pm read more

End of Second Quarter

Friday, December 22, 2017

Teacher Inservice – 1pm Dismissal

Friday, December 22, 2017
1:00 am

School Mass – 7th Grade

Friday, December 22, 2017
9:00 am

Bowling for Grades 5-8

Friday, December 22, 2017
10:30 am - 12:30 pm

Christmas Break

Monday, December 25, 2017 - Friday, January 5, 2018

January PTO Meeting!

Monday, January 8, 2018
7:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Come join in the fun with our first PTO meeting of 2018! This meeting will cover the final plans for Catholic Schools Week, upcoming Dine Out nights, and other fun fundraisers coming up in the … read more

School Mass-5th Grade

Friday, January 12, 2018
9:00 am - 10:00 am

Sports Pictures in the PAC

Wednesday, January 17, 2018
3:10 pm - 4:10 pm

Little Art Club Gr. 2-3

Thursday, January 18, 2018
3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

School Mass-4th Grade

Friday, January 19, 2018
9:00 am - 10:00 am

School Dance for Gr. 6-8

Friday, January 19, 2018
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Battle of the Books at Sycamore Library

Monday, January 22, 2018
5:15 pm - 6:00 pm

Spirit Wear Day

Thursday, January 25, 2018

School Mass-3rd Grade

Friday, January 26, 2018
9:00 am - 10:00 am

Catholic Schools Week Open House

Sunday, January 28, 2018
9:00 am - 11:00 am
The students, families, and teachers of St. Mary's in Sycamore welcome you to our Community Open House, to kick off Catholic Schools Week! Catholic Schools benefit all year long from the religious … read more

Catholic Schools Week – Celebrate Faculty, Staff and Volunteers

Monday, January 29, 2018
What do parents need to know for today? • Please have your student come to school on Monday with a sweet blessing of thanks for their teacher(s). This can be a thank you card, a picture, or a … read more

Catholic School Week – Celebrating Your Students

Tuesday, January 30, 2018
What do parents need to know for today? • Students can wear Spirit Wear (This is anything that says St. Mary's Catholic School, St. Mary's STARS, is navy and white, has stars on it) • 7:45am - … read more

Preschool Open House

Tuesday, January 30, 2018
9:00 am - 10:30 am

Catholic Schools Week – Celebrate the Nation

Wednesday, January 31, 2018
What do parents need to know for today? • Kindergarten will have a demonstration from the DeKalb County Farm Bureau. • 1st - 4th Grade will have an Author Study via Skype with Seymour Simon … read more

Catholic Schools Week – Celebrating Our Community

Thursday, February 1, 2018
What do parents need to know for today? • Students will be doing a service project, collecting socks for Safe Passage. • Older students will read aloud or partner read with younger students read more

Catholic Schools Week – Celebrate Vocations Mass & Talent Show

Friday, February 2, 2018
What do parents need to know for today? • Students will celebrate vocations today with school Mass. • The St. Mary's Talent Show will be from 1:30pm - 3:00pm • Students will have Get Up and … read more

School Mass-STAFF

Friday, February 2, 2018
9:00 am - 10:00 am

St. Mary School Talent Show K-8

Friday, February 2, 2018
1:30 pm - 2:45 pm

Preschool Prom

Friday, February 2, 2018
6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
School Hall read more

Battle of the Books at Sycamore Library

Monday, February 5, 2018
5:15 pm - 6:00 pm

Quarterly Dress Down Day

Wednesday, February 7, 2018

School Mass-2nd Grade

Friday, February 9, 2018
9:00 am - 10:00 am

School Dance – 6th-8th Grades

Friday, February 9, 2018
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Ash Wednesday School Mass-8th Grade

Wednesday, February 14, 2018
9:00 am - 10:00 am

Little Art Club Gr. 2-3

Thursday, February 15, 2018
3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Valentine Dance 6th-8th Grade

Friday, February 16, 2018
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Make-Up for Snow Day

Monday, February 19, 2018

Spirit Wear Day

Thursday, February 22, 2018

School Mass-1st Grade

Friday, February 23, 2018
9:00 am - 10:00 am

Kindergarten Open House

Friday, February 23, 2018
10:30 am - 11:30 am

PTO Culver’s Dine-Out Fundraiser 5-8pm

Monday, February 26, 2018
5:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Read Across America Day

Friday, March 2, 2018

Here I Am Conference Gr. 7 & 8

Friday, March 2, 2018
8:30 am - 3:00 pm
St. Patrick Church St. Charles, IL read more

School Mass-6th Grade

Friday, March 2, 2018
9:00 am - 10:00 am

Battle of the Books at Sycamore Library

Monday, March 5, 2018
5:15 pm - 6:00 pm

Little Art Club for K-1

Wednesday, March 7, 2018
3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

End of Third Quarter

Friday, March 9, 2018

School Mass-2nd Grade

Friday, March 9, 2018
9:00 am - 10:00 am

KEC Career Day for 8th grade

Thursday, March 15, 2018
8:30 am - 11:30 am

Little Art Club Gr. 2-3

Thursday, March 15, 2018
3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

School Mass-5th Grade

Friday, March 16, 2018
9:00 am - 10:00 am

Battle of the Books at Sycamore Library

Monday, March 19, 2018
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Spirit Wear Day

Thursday, March 22, 2018

Grandparent’s Day

Friday, March 23, 2018
9:00 am - 11:00 am

School Mass-4th Grade

Friday, March 23, 2018
9:00 am - 10:00 am

1pm Dismissal – Teacher Inservice

Friday, March 23, 2018
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Easter Break

Monday, March 26, 2018 - Monday, April 2, 2018

School Mass-3rd Grade

Friday, April 6, 2018
9:00 am - 10:00 am

Battle of the Books at Sycamore Library

Monday, April 9, 2018
5:15 pm - 6:00 pm

Choir/Handbell Concert in Church

Tuesday, April 10, 2018
6:30 pm - 8:00 pm

Little Art Club K-Gr.1

Thursday, April 12, 2018
3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

School Mass-1st Grade

Friday, April 13, 2018
9:00 am - 10:00 am

St. Mary Russell Hustle

Saturday, April 14, 2018

Music Recital in Church

Tuesday, April 17, 2018
6:30 pm - 8:00 pm

8th Grade Visit to Sycamore High School

Wednesday, April 18, 2018
10:45 am - 1:15 pm

8th Grade Mass at ACC

Thursday, April 19, 2018
10:00 am

Little Art Club Gr. 2-3

Thursday, April 19, 2018
3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

School Mass-7th Grade

Friday, April 20, 2018
9:00 am - 10:00 am

School Play Dress Rehearsal

Monday, April 23, 2018
4:30 pm - 7:00 pm

Battle of the Books at Sycamore Library

Monday, April 23, 2018
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

School Play

Tuesday, April 24, 2018
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

School Play

Wednesday, April 25, 2018
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

Spirit Wear Day

Thursday, April 26, 2018

School Mass-5th Grade

Friday, April 27, 2018
9:00 am - 10:00 am

School Dance

Friday, April 27, 2018
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Sponsored by 1st place 6th grade girls basketball team read more

Girls on the Run Practice 5K

Monday, April 30, 2018
3:30 pm - 5:00 pm

Quarterly Dress Down Day

Thursday, May 3, 2018

Moms and Muffins Preschool 4 Afternoons

Thursday, May 3, 2018
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Spring Concert

Thursday, May 3, 2018
6:30 pm

Moms & Muffins Preschool 4 Mornings

Friday, May 4, 2018
8:30 am - 9:30 am

Moms & Muffins Preschool 3

Friday, May 4, 2018
8:30 am - 9:30 am

School Mass-Kindergarten

Friday, May 4, 2018
9:00 am - 10:00 am

Kindergarten Mother’s Tea

Friday, May 4, 2018
10:30 am - 11:30 am

First Communion Picnic

Friday, May 11, 2018
10:30 am - 12:30 pm

End of the Year Dance – Grades 6-8

Friday, May 11, 2018
6:30 pm - 8:30 pm

Ladies Lilac Luncheon

Saturday, May 12, 2018
10:30 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. St. Mary's Parish Activity Center ~ 244 Waterman Street, Sycamore, IL 60178 Lunch • Shopping • Raffles • Children's Activities for Girls & Boys • Beautifully & creatively … read more

Last Day for Preschool 4

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Sports Boosters Banquet

Wednesday, May 16, 2018
5:30 pm - 7:00 pm

Preschool 4 Celebration

Wednesday, May 16, 2018
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Last Day for Preschool 3

Thursday, May 17, 2018

Spirit Wear Day

Thursday, May 17, 2018

8th Grade Graduation

Friday, May 18, 2018

School Mass-8th Grade End of Year Awards

Friday, May 18, 2018
9:00 am - 10:00 am

5th Gr. Meet the Civil War Generals at Sycamore HS

Friday, May 18, 2018
10:00 am - 11:30 am

Awards Day Mass

Thursday, May 24, 2018
9:00 am

New Family Information Night

Wednesday, July 25, 2018
5:30 pm
St. Mary's Memorial Hall - Parish Activity Center read more

Back to School Night

Wednesday, August 1, 2018
4:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Dinner, school supply pick-up and uniform exchange - In the P.A.C. Memorial Hall read more

Kindergarten Parent Night

Wednesday, August 8, 2018

Pre-school 3 Meet and Greet

Thursday, August 16, 2018
9:00 am

Preschool 4 Meet and Greet

Friday, August 17, 2018
9:00 am

1pm early dismissal

Friday, October 5, 2018

End of the first quarter

Friday, October 12, 2018

Thanksgiving Break – No student attendance

Wednesday, November 21, 2018 - Friday, November 23, 2018

End of the second quarter

Thursday, December 20, 2018

Christmas Break

Friday, December 21, 2018 - Sunday, January 6, 2019

Classes resume

Monday, January 7, 2019

Catholic Schools’ Week

Saturday, January 26, 2019 - Friday, February 1, 2019

End of the third quarter

Friday, March 15, 2019

Open registration begins

Friday, March 15, 2019

1pm early dismissal

Friday, March 22, 2019

Spring Break

Monday, March 25, 2019 - Friday, March 29, 2019

1pm early dismissal

Thursday, April 18, 2019

Last day attendance K-7th

Thursday, May 23, 2019

Make-up for emergency day if needed

Tuesday, May 28, 2019 - Thursday, May 30, 2019